About Us

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees for Green River College is composed of influential community members who reside within the college's District 10 service area. Trustees are volunteers serving a five-year term by appointment of the Governor.

Trustees bring a rich diversity of backgrounds and skills to the governance of Green River College; they serve as an important communication link between the college and the community. All trustees sit as members of the Trustees Association of Community and Technical Colleges. This association is comprised of trustees from the 34 community and technical colleges statewide.

The Green River Board of Trustees meets every third Thursday of the month at 4:00 p.m. on campus in the board room of the Administration Building. These monthly meetings are open to the public.

The Board Members:

Tim Clark, Chair

Tim Clark

Tim Clark served 16 years on Kent City Council, was Director of the Kent School District from 2010-13, and taught for 28 years in the Bremerton, Edmonds and Kent school districts. Clark also served as an adjunct faculty member at Highline Community College and Green River College. He helped develop the partnership between Green River and the Kent School district resulting in the iGrad Program. The iGrad program was formed under pioneering state legislation that uses existing dollars to help at risk students graduate high school and gain visible access to higher education.

Appointed January 2015

Sharonne Navas, Vice-Chair

Sharonne Navas

Co-Founder and current Executive Director of the Equity in Education Coalition. 

Was a Commissioner for the Washington State Commission on Hispanic Affairs from 2010 - 2012. 

Former work experience: Community organizer with Stand for Children, Executive Director of Para Los Ninos, Assistant Director of Development for NARAL Pro-Choice America, Deputy Executive Director for Ayuda, Inc., and Development Coordinator for the National Coalition to Abolish the Death Penalty.

Currently, she is on the steering committee of the Southeast Seattle Education Coalition and the board of Reading Partners Seattle. Ms. Navas sits on the Every Student Succeeds Act Accountability Workgroup as well as several workgroups for the Professional Educators Standards Board. 

Ms. Navas was a volunteer for the South King Council on Human Services and was a Board member of the League for Education Voters. She was an advisory member for the Thrive by Five Advancing Racial Equity Theory of Change in Early Learning as well as a committee member of the WA State Education Opportunity Gap Oversight and Accountability Committee.

Sharonne holds a BA in Psychology and Sociology from St. John's University.

Appointed March 2016

Claudia Kauffman

Claudia Kauffman

Claudia Kauffman, (Nez Perce), is the Intergovernmental Affairs Liaison for the Muckleshoot Indian Tribe. Claudia was elected to the WA State Senate from 2007 - 2011.  Claudia is a founding member of Native Action Network, grassroots civic engagement, community and leadership development non-profit organization.  She has been foster mother to ten foster children, and advocates for foster children, developmental disabilities, and the improvement of our public education system. In 2009, Claudia was given the Washington State Governor's Award of Excellence for her lifetime of volunteering. And in 2012 was recognized by the University of Washington, Minority Alumni Partnership with the Distinguished Community Service Award for her years of serving many communities.  Claudia currently sits on the Board of Trustees for Green River College and was recently appointed by Seattle Mayor Ed Murray as Chair of the Seattle Indian Service Commission. Claudia is a graduate of Northwest Indian College and lives in Kent, WA, with her husband Larry Cordier and is mother to three children.  

Appointed January 2011

Linda Cowan

Linda Cowan

Board Chair 2013-14, Board Vice Chair 2012-13, 2011-12; Retired Superintendent of Schools, Auburn School District. Med University of Washington; BA in Education Western Washington University. Auburn Rotary, Past President, Secretary and Scholarship Committee Chair; PEO Auburn Chapter; Communities In Schools, Advisory Board: PTA, Lifetime member. White River Valley Museum, Board Chair; Auburn Valley YMCA, Board member; Washington Association of School Administrators, member; Association of Washington School Principals, Legislative Committee Chair.

Appointed January 2011

Jackie Boschok

Jackie Boschok

Current Vice President of the Washington State Labor Council and President of the Washington State Alliance for Retired Americans. Ms. Boschok previously worked as a material processor and resource facilitator for Boeing Commercial Airplane Group and as an elected business representative of Aerospace Machinists Union District 751. Former Vice President of Snohomish County Labor Council, Executive Board member of United Way of Snohomish County and the National Executive Board of the Coalition of Labor Union Women. Ms. Boschok holds a Bachelor of Science in agriculture from the University of Missouri-Columbia.

Appointed October 2016