Campus Life

Men's Golf



The Green River men's varsity golf team plays on two of the finest golf courses in the South Sound Region. Partnering with Meridian Valley Country Club and Washington National Golf Club as their home courses has proved to be a great relationship for the Gator golf program. Green River has won the NW Athletic Association of Community Colleges (NWAACC) Championship in 1998, 1994, and 1987.

In 2012 and 2013 the Gators finished as a team in second place at the NWAACC Championships due in large part to Broc Johnson's back to back medalist performances at the championship tournament. The NWAACC Player of the Year, Johsnon will continue to play college golf for NCAA Division I, Arizona State University in 2013-14.

Golf ball

For more information about our golf program, contact Head Golf Coach Glenn Beatty.

Meet the Team

2014 Roster

#NameHeightYearHometown / High School
Luke Olson 6'0 FR Des Moines / Kennedy HS
Kyle Drugge 5'10 FR Puyallup / Emerald Ridge HS
  Jacob Leonard 6'2 FR Sumner / Puyallup HS
Preston Gillihan 6'0 FR Puyallup / Puyallup HS
Russell Smith 6'1 FR Auburn / Federal Way HS
Nick Fisher 5'10 FR Kent / Kentridge HS
Nate Smith 5'10 FR Federal Way / Todd Beamer HS

Meet the Coaches

Head Men's and Women's Golf Coach

Glenn Beatty, Head Men's and Women's Golf Coach

Glenn Beatty is welcomed to the position of Green River Head Golf Coach for both the men's and women's program in the fall of 2012. Coach Beatty is an Assistant Golf Professional at Sumner Meadows Golf Course in Sumner, WA.  Having worked in the golf industry since 1997 at Ventana Canyon Golf and Racquet Club in Tucson, AZ, Beatty brings a wealth of teaching and playing experience to the program. While attending the University of Arizona Beatty was a practice member of the varsity golf program. He now lives with his wife in Bonney Lake, WA.

In his first season, he led the Gators to both second place finishes in the men's and women's NWAACC championships.  Broc Johnson won medalist honors for the men, while top female Madeleine Ottosson tied for first before losing the title in a sudden death playoff. 


2013-14 Season

DateEventLocationRecordTop Individual Result
Sept 21-22 NWAACC Fall Festival Highlander GC
Wenatchee, WA
7th K. Meyers - 149
N. Fisher - 149
Sun Oct 13 Swanson Cup Chambers Bay GC
Tacoma, WA
3rd N. Fisher - 79
D.J Vallala / R. Smith - 81
Oct 26-27 CBC Invitational Horn Rapids
Pasco, WA
5th N. Fisher - 242
L. Olsen - 245
March 30-31 NWAACC League #2 Horn Rapids
Richland, WA
8th K. Drugge - 162
P. Gillihan - 162
April 20-21   Bigfoot Invitational Spokane, WA  6th J. Leonard - 153
P. Gillihan - 154 
April 27-28 NWAACC League #3 Gold Mtn/McCormick
Bremerton, WA
7th N. Fisher - 159
K. Drugge - 163
May 4-5 Cardinal Classic Anvalon GC
Mount Vernon, WA
5th L. Olson - 159
J. Leonard - 166
May 11-12 NWAACC League #4  Bandon Dunes
Coos Bay, OR
8th N. Smith - 165
N. Fisher - 167
May 18-19  NWAACC Championships Horn Rapids
Pasco, WA 
7th  N. Fisher - 158 (25th)
K. Drugge - 159


Year by Year Record

YearFinishCoachLow Gator
2014 7th - NWAACC Glenn Beatty N. Fisher
2013 2nd - NWAACC Glenn Beatty Broc Johnson (1st)
2012 2nd - NWAACC Mike Smith Broc Johnson (1st)
2011 6th - NWAACC Brandon Lorrain Jeremy Johnson
2010 9th - NWAACC Jim Von Doehren Jeremy Johnson
2009 5th - NWAACC Jim Von Doehren Troy Gillihan
2008 8th - NWAACC Jim Von Doehren Erik Tronvig
2007 2nd - NWAACC Jim Von Doehren Chaz Burns - 2nd Overall
Tyler Dost - T-3rd Overall
2006 4th - NWAACC Jim Von Doehren Dustin Jones
2005 9th - NWAACC Jim Von Doehren Erik Hammerstrom

Men's NWAACC All-Academic

2012 - Kevin McCrossin

Men's NWAACC Team Champions

1998, 1994, 1987.

Men's NWAACC Individual Champions

  • 2013 - Broc Johnson (repeat)
  • 2012 - Broc Johnson
  • 2000 - Steve Knoppi
  • 1998 - Mark Hansen
  • 1997 - Joel Skarbo